25/11/2020

Daniel Fasquelle is joining Squadra Avocats as Senior Counsel to create the “Competition, Distribution and European Affairs” practice group.

Daniel Fasquelle, Associate Professor of Law Faculties, Vice-Chairman of the Economic Affairs Committee of the French National Assembly until July 2020, joins Squadra Avocats to create the “Competition, Distribution and European Affairs” practice group.

At 57, Daniel Fasquelle is a recognised specialist in French and European competition law, a subject which he teaches and in which he has always had a strong doctrinal activity. A Member of Parliament from 2007 to 2020, Vice-Chairman of the Committee on Economic Affairs for ten years and member of the EPP General Assembly, he has expert knowledge of French and European institutions. Honorary Dean of the Faculty of Coastal Law, Mayor of Le Touquet-Paris-Plage, he has held and still holds responsibilities that naturally make him close to the private and public decision-makers that the firm is dedicated to supporting.

“My ambition is to offer the firm’s clients my knowledge of competition law and European law, as well as the expertise I have acquired in the various functions I have held, in order to create a competition and European affairs division that will complement Squadra Avocats’ current offering. I was particularly attracted by the dynamism of the firm’s partners, their attentiveness to companies and the agility offered by the structure“, explains Daniel Fasquelle.

Daniel Fasquelle is recognised for his doctrinal activity, in particular through the journal Concurrences, of which he has been one of the authors since its creation in 2004. At the National Assembly, he has been an active member of the Economic Affairs Committee. In addition to monitoring texts of interest to companies (EGALIM law, PACTE law, etc.), he is the author of many landmark reports (recently: Report on subcontracting in June 2019 and report on the regulation of digital platforms in May 2020). His ability to invest in the files entrusted to him, his seriousness and his availability are unanimously underlined by his interlocutors.

Daniel has a background that enables him to combine his knowledge of the law with his knowledge of French and European institutions, which is rare. Director of the Common Market Dictionary and then of the Community Joly, he has been visiting Brussels and Strasbourg for many years. He is a recognised author in competition law and European business law. It is on the strength of these assets that he joins us to complete our offer in competition and European affairs” comment Cataldo Cammarata, founder of the firm, and François Lan, managing partner.

Squadra Avocats has about twenty lawyers including eight partners working in the main areas of business law. The firm has offices in Paris and Bordeaux.

Daniel Fasquelle rejoint le cabinet Squadra Avocats en qualité de Senior Counsel pour y créer le pôle « Droit de la concurrence, de la distribution et des affaires européennes »

Daniel Fasquelle, Professeur Agrégé des Facultés de droit, Vice-Président de la commission des affaires économiques de l’Assemblée nationale jusqu’en juillet 2020, rejoint Squadra Avocats pour créer le pôle « Droit de la concurrence, de la distribution et des affaires européennes ».


A 57 ans, Daniel Fasquelle est un spécialiste reconnu du droit de la concurrence français et européen, matière qu’il enseigne et domaine dans lequel il a toujours eu une forte activité doctrinale. Député de 2007 à 2020, vice-président de la commission des affaires économiques pendant dix ans, membre de l’Assemblée générale du PPE, il a une connaissance experte des institutions françaises et européennes. Doyen honoraire de la Faculté de droit du littoral, Maire du Touquet-Paris- Plage, il a exercé et exerce encore des responsabilités qui le rendent naturellement proche des décideurs privés ou publics que le cabinet a vocation à accompagner.

« Mon ambition est de mettre à la disposition des clients du cabinet ma connaissance du droit de la concurrence et du droit européen ainsi que mon expertise acquise dans les différentes fonctions que j’ai exercées pour créer un pôle concurrence et affaires européennes qui viendra compléter l’offre actuelle de Squadra Avocats. J’ai été tout particulièrement séduit par le dynamisme des associés du cabinet, leur écoute à l’égard des entreprises ainsi que par l’agilité offerte par la structure », explique Daniel Fasquelle.

Daniel Fasquelle est reconnu pour son activité doctrinale, en particulier à travers la revue Concurrences dont il est l’un des auteurs depuis sa création en 2004. A l’Assemblée nationale, il a été un député actif au sein de la commission des affaires économiques. Outre le suivi des textes intéressant la vie des entreprises (loi EGALIM, loi PACTE…), il est l’auteur de nombreux rapports qui ont fait date (récemment : Rapport sur la sous-traitance en juin 2019 et rapport sur la régulation des plateformes numériques en mai 2020). Sa capacité à s’investir dans les dossiers qui lui sont confiés, son sérieux et sa disponibilité sont unanimement soulignés par ses interlocuteurs.

« Daniel a un parcours qui lui permet, ce qui est rare, d’allier la connaissance du droit mais aussi des institutions françaises et européennes. Directeur du dictionnaire du Marché commun puis du Joly communautaire, il se rend depuis de nombreuses années à Bruxelles et à Strasbourg. Il est un auteur reconnu en droit de la concurrence et en droit européen des affaires. C’est fort de ces atouts qu’il nous rejoint pour compléter notre offre en doit de la concurrence et pour les affaires européennes», commentent Cataldo Cammarata, fondateur du cabinet et François Lan, gérant associé

Squadra Avocats compte une vingtaine d’avocats dont huit associés intervenant dans les principaux domaines du droit des affaires. Le cabinet dispose de bureaux à Paris et Bordeaux.

Voir le document